Home » Current Affairs » Nobel Prize in 2022: Annie Ernaux awarded Nobel Prize in Literature

Nobel Prize in 2022: Annie Ernaux awarded Nobel Prize in Literature

Annie Ernaux awarded Nobel Prize in Literature

Annie Ernaux has been awarded the 2022 Nobel Prize in Literature. Please read below to find out who Annie Ernaux is and what her achievements are.

French writer Anne Ernaux has been awarded the 2022 Nobel Prize for Literature. Ernaux is respected for the courage and clinical acumen through which she explores the roots, mechanisms and collective restrictions of individual memory.

The Swedish Academy announced the results on 6 October 2022. The Academy will also announce the Nobel Peace Prize on 7 October 2022.

Who is Annie Ernaux?

  • Annie was born on 1 September 1940. An author and professor of French literature, his autobiographical work is closely linked to sociology.
  • Arnoux came from a working-class background and grew up in Yvette, Normandy.
  • He has completed his studies at the Universities of Rouen and then at Bordeaux.
  • Ani graduated as a schoolteacher and received a bachelor’s degree in modern literature.
  • He has been working on an unfinished thesis project on Maravivax for some time now.
  • Arnoux began his literary career in 1974 with an autobiographical novel, Les Armories.
  • He won the Renadot Prize in 1984 for his other autobiographical work, La Place. His work focused on his relationship with his father and his experiences growing up in a small town in France.
  • Ernaux is also one of the seven founding writers for whom the press takes its name, and many of his works have been translated into English and published by Seven Stories Press.
  • He was also nominated for the International Booker Prize in 2019 for his book The Years.

Annie Arnoux: Awards and Honors

Arnoux has been honored with various honors and awards. Some of them are the following:

  • 1977 for the Prix d’honneur for the 1977 novel Si quills descent au rien
  • Prix ​​Marguerite-Durras in 2008 for Les Ennis.
  • Prix ​​de la Langue Française in 2008 for his complete work.
  • European Strega Awards in 2016 for Los Enos.
  • Prix ​​Formentor in 2019 and much more.

Nobel Prize 2021

The 2021 Nobel Prize in Literature was awarded to Tanzanian novelist Abdulrajak Gurnah for his unshakeable and compassionate insight into the effects of colonialism and the fate of refugees in the gap between cultures and continents. Some of his best-selling novels include Paradise, By the Sea, and Deserton.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Name *
Email *