Home » Current Affairs » Assam to rename cities contrary to Indian culture

Assam to rename cities contrary to Indian culture


Assam cm himanta biswa sharma

Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma has announced that the state government will launch a portal to invite suggestions for renaming of cities, towns and villages.

The Chief Minister of Assam tweeted saying, “There’s too much in one name here,” And said that they will launch a portal to invite suggestions on name change across Assam which is contrary to their civilization, culture and derogatory to any caste or community.

Himanta Biswa Sarma emphasized that the name of a city, town or village should represent its culture, civilization and tradition.

Naming of cities in india

Changing the name of cities in India is not a new trend, it started in 1947 after the end of British rule in India. Since then there have been several name-change proposals, some of them controversial. All proposals for renaming cities and towns have to be approved by the central government.

Several states and territories have also undergone name changes since India’s independence, including the renaming of Travancore-Cochin in 1956 to Kerala, the reorganization of central India into Madhya Pradesh in 1959, Tamil Nadu from Madras State in 1969 and Karnataka from Mysore State. Huh. Uttarakhand to Uttarakhand in 1973 and 2007.

The English spellings of many states and cities have also undergone changes to match the local dialect such as Calcutta to Kolkata, Orissa to Odisha, Pondicherry to Puducherry, Bangalore to Bengaluru, Mangalore to Mangaluru, Gurgaon to Gurugram, Bombay to Mumbai. Trivandrum to Thiruvananthapuram, Madras to Chennai, Cochin to Kochi, Guwahati to Guwahati, Baroda to Vadodara, Poona to Pune, Mysore to Mysore, Thrissur to Thrissur

Recently in 2019, the central government approved the renaming of the historic city of Allahabad to Prayagraj, changing the city’s original name to Prayag, which means “place of offerings”. Faizabad district of Uttar Pradesh was renamed as Ayodhya.

List of designated states in India

East Punjab to Punjab (26 January 1950)

United Provinces to Uttar Pradesh (24 January 1950)

Hyderabad + Andhra Pradesh to Andhra Pradesh (1 November 1956)

Travancore-Cochin to Kerala (1 November 1956).

Central India to Madhya Pradesh (1 November 1959)

Madras State to Tamil Nadu (14 January 1969)

Mysore State to Karnataka (1 November 1973)

Uttaranchal to Uttarakhand (1 January 2007)

Orissa to Odisha (4 November 2011)

List of designated union territories in India

Lakshadweep to Lakshadweep, Minicoy and Amindivi Islands (1 November 1973)

Pondicherry to Puducherry (1 October 2006)


Source link


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Name *
Email *