Home » Current Affairs » Black Sea: Bordering Countries, Map, Location, Why is it called Black Sea, Key Facts

Black Sea: Bordering Countries, Map, Location, Why is it called Black Sea, Key Facts

Black SeaRussia stunned the world on February 24, 2022 with its full-scale attack on Ukraine by all three means- land, sea and air. Ukraine’s Western allies have responded with harsh sanctions on Russia, while Ukraine pleads for more support because it can no longer stop attacks from Russia and its powerful military.

Ukraine has requested NATO member Turkey, which shares maritime borders with both Russia and Ukraine in the Black Sea, to close the Bosphorus and Dardanelles Straits to prevent Russian ships from entering Ukraine.

Under the 1936 Montreux Convention, Turkey has control over the Strait and can limit the passage of warships through the area. This has put Turkey in a difficult position, as it has close ties with both Russia and Ukraine. While Turkey has opposed sanctions on Russia, it has also called Russia’s invasion of Ukraine unacceptable.

Earlier this month, six Russian warships and a submarine crossed the Dardanelles and the Bosphorus Strait into the Black Sea in what Moscow called a naval exercise off Ukrainian waters.

Black Sea left open?

Unfortunately for Ukraine, When Russia launched an offensive against Ukraine, there were no NATO ships in the Black Sea. The nearest naval ship to a NATO member was in the Mediterranean Sea. The last such NATO member to be in the Black Sea was a French warship, which completed its tour in early January. Since then no other major NATO ally has patrolled the waters of the Black Sea, leaving a major open shore.

Let us understand more about the Black Sea here.

Black sea border countries

The Black Sea is a marginal Mediterranean Sea located between Europe and Asia. It is located in Southeast Europe to the east of the Balkans and drains into the Mediterranean Sea. Countries bordering the Black Sea include Ukraine, Russia, Bulgaria, Georgia, Turkey, and Romania.

Black sea map

black Sea bordering countries

Why is it called the Black Sea?

Very few people know about the name of the Black Sea. There are various theories that the water body was called the Black Sea because of its inaccessible nature. Ancient sailors called the Black Sea a difficult water body to navigate. There are also reports of the presence of wild tribes on its shores.

Another theory suggests that the name Black Sea comes from storms during the winter that caused the water in the ocean to appear black.

Another theory suggests that objects that sink in water are covered with black mud after some time and the discovery of such objects across the ocean may have given the ocean its name.

Black Sea: Know 7 Key Facts

1. Black Sea water is anoxic, as the absence of oxygen in the water in the Black Sea is significant.

2. Marine life cannot survive in the anoxic zone of the Black Sea. Only oxygenated surface waters of the Black Sea support marine life.

3. Black is also known as the largest water body along the Meromictic Basin. There is less mixing between the upper and lower layers of water, which is a rare occurrence.

4. The depth of the Black Sea is more than 150 meters. Its water is filled with hydrogen sulfide for about 2 km.

5. In the deepest layers of its waters there is no life other than sulfur bacteria.

6, The water level in the Black Sea remains the same at all times due to the absence of low and high tides. Therefore, there is no fluctuation in the water level, keeping the sea calm and calm.

7, Due to the high levels of minerals and salt, objects tend to float in the Black Sea.

Source link


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Name *
Email *