Home » Current Affairs » National War Memorial’s 3rd Anniversary Know 10 Key Facts

National War Memorial’s 3rd Anniversary Know 10 Key Facts

national war memorial third anniversary

The third anniversary of the National War Memorial was celebrated on February 25, 2022. The Chiefs of Indian Army, Indian Navy and Indian Air Force laid wreaths at the National War Memorial to commemorate the occasion.

On this occasion, Chief of Integrated Defense Staff Air Marshal BR Krishna also laid a wreath at the National War Memorial today.

The National War Memorial was dedicated to the nation by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on February 25, 2019. The National War Memorial was built in memory of the valor and sacrifice of all the soldiers who laid down their lives for the country since 1947.

National War Memorial: 10 Key Facts You Need to Know!

1. The National War Memorial is the first war memorial in India built to honor all the soldiers who fought in the armed conflicts of independent India. The memorial commemorates the soldiers who died during the Indo-China War in 1962, the Indo-Pakistani War in 1947, 1965 and 1971, and the Kargil War in 1999.

2. It also remembers soldiers who died in UN peacekeeping missions, Humanitarian Assistance Disaster Relief (HADR) operations and counter-insurgency operations.

3. The National War Memorial Complex is in line with the existing layout and symmetry of the majestic Rajpath and Central Vista. The memorial was built at a cost of Rs 171 crore.

4. It has a circle of immortality, a central obelisk with an eternal flame that rises to a height of 15.5 metres. The flame symbolizes the immortality of the soul of the martyred soldiers.

5. The Amar Jawan Jyoti flame was merged with the eternal flame at the National War Memorial in a grand ceremony on January 21, 2022.

6. The National War Memorial comprises four concentric circles where each circle depicts different values ​​of the Armed Forces including the Amar Chakra (the circle of immortality), the obelisk and the eternal flame.

7. Other Chakras include the Veerta Chakra (Cycle of Bravery), which has six bronze frescoes depicting various combat actions.

8. The third chakra is the Tyag Chakra (Cycle of Sacrifice), made entirely of granite bricks, each bearing the name of a soldier who died since independence.

9. The fourth is the Rakshak Chakra (the circle of protection), which surrounds the other three chakras and consists of more than 600 trees that will act and represent the soldiers who defend the country. The fifth is the protection chakra, which is the outermost level.

10, The memorial also has a dedicated area for the statues of soldiers who have been awarded the country’s highest gallantry award ‘Param Vir Chakra’. These include the three living awardees – retired Subedar Major Bana Singh, Subedar Major Yogendra Singh Yadav and Subedar Sanjay Kumar.

National War Memorial Time

9:00 am to 6:30 pm (November to March)

9:00 am to 7:30 pm (April to October)


Amar Jawan Jyoti was built in the memory of all the soldiers of the Indian Army who were martyred during the Bangladesh Liberation War in 1971.

There was no war memorial then, so the Eternal Jwala was built under the India Gate. It was initially decided that the Amar Jawan Jyoti would remain in its place, even though there was a new eternal flame in the national war.

Later it was decided to merge both the flames to have one place where all the dignitaries could pay their respects.

Source link


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Name *
Email *