Home » Current Affairs » Rohit Sharma Captaincy Record in T20I: Becomes the first captain in history to win 13 consecutive T20Is

Rohit Sharma Captaincy Record in T20I: Becomes the first captain in history to win 13 consecutive T20Is

Rohit Sharma Captaincy Record in T20I

Rohit Sharma Captaincy Record in T20I: Indian captain Rohit Sharma has become the first captain in cricket history to win 13 consecutive T20 Internationals. India achieved this feat by defeating England by 50 runs in the first T20I to take a 1-0 lead in the three-match T20I series at the Rose Bowl in Southampton on July 7, 2022. That was Rohit’s first match against Sharma after recovering from COVID-19.

Rohit Sharma had to miss India’s rescheduled fifth Test against England in Birmingham after testing positive for COVID-19, and Jasprit Bumrah led India in his absence. However, the captain was deemed fit to lead the team in the T20I series. Hardik Pandya’s all-around performance played a crucial role in India’s victory. Pandya became the first Indian player to take four wickets and score half a century in a T20 match.

Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, and Deepak Hooda also scored 24, 39, and 33 runs, respectively. These performances brought India’s total to 198/8 in the first innings. Bowling later, Pandya took four wickets, spinner Yuzvendra Chahal also taking two, joined by debutant Arshdeep Singh who grabbed two, and Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Harshal Patel to restrict England to 148.

India vs. England 2nd T20I

Date: July 9, Saturday
Location: Birmingham

Rohit Sharma breaks Virat Kohli’s T20 captaincy record.

Rohit Sharma’s 24 runs with five fours also helped him break an incredible record previously held by Virat Kohli. When he reached 13 runs, he surpassed Virat Kohli’s record of being the fastest Indian captain to get 1000 runs in T20I history.

Kohli held the record for being the world’s fastest captain to reach 1,000 T20I races until October 2021, when Pakistani captain Babar Azam broke him. While Virat Kohli had accomplished this feat in 30 innings, Babar Azam had accomplished this feat in just 24 innings.

Rohit Sharma has overtaken Virat Kohli in his 29th inning as captain of India to reach the 1000-run mark in T20I. Rohit Sharma has become the second-fastest captain in the world to achieve this feat.

Rohit Sharma was appointed full-time T20I captain of India in November 2021 after Virat Kohli announced his resignation from ICC T2O World Cup 2022. T20 World Cup 2022 was Virat Kohli’s last outing as T20 captain from India; unfortunately, India withdrew from the tournament early.

Virat Kohli was not part of the playing XI in India’s first T20I match against England. However, he will return to the team in the second match of T20.

Source link


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Name *
Email *