Home » Current Affairs » Uttarakhand CM Pushkar Singh Dhami resigns along with cabinet

Uttarakhand CM Pushkar Singh Dhami resigns along with cabinet

Uttarakhand CM Pushkar Singh Dhami

Uttarakhand Election Result 2022: Uttarakhand Chief Minister Pushkar Singh Dhami submitted his resignation along with his cabinet to Uttarakhand Governor Gurmeet Singh. The move comes after Dhami lost Khatima constituency to Congress’s Bhuvan Chandra Kapri by a margin of 6579 votes despite his party’s resounding victory in the state.

The Chief Minister said, “Since we have got a new mandate and this term is over, I have submitted my resignation, along with the cabinet, to the governor. He asked me to continue till the new government is sworn in. We have got the love of the people. And See phenomenal results.”

The BJP registered a comfortable victory in the 2022 Uttarakhand assembly elections with 47 seats in the 70-member assembly. The Congress managed to win just 19 seats, followed by the BSP with 2 and two independents.

With the defeat of Pushkar Singh Dhami, the BJP may announce a new chief ministerial face for the state.

Uttarakhand Chief Minister List: Story of 3 Chief Ministers in Four Months

Uttarakhand has had a total of 10 chief ministers since the state’s formation in 2000, three of whom have changed in a span of just four months last year.

Trivendra Singh Rawat, who served as the 8th Chief Minister of Uttarakhand, resigned on March 9, 2021 after his party decided to replace him. The BJP won a majority in the 2017 Uttarakhand state assembly elections and formed the government in the state, when he was named chief minister.

Trivendra Singh Rawat was replaced by Tirath Singh Rawat, who took oath on March 10, but was replaced by Pushkar Singh Dhami, the 10th Chief Minister of Uttarakhand on July 4, 2021.

Yet, while the BJP has secured a majority in the state, it is likely to have a new chief minister after Dhami loses his seat.

Check out the complete list of Chief Ministers of Uttarakhand

No Name team term of office
1 Nityananda Swami BJP 9 November 2000-29 October 2001 (354 days)
2 Bhagat Singh Koshyari Congress 30 October 2001 – 1 March 2002 (122 days)
3 ND Tiwari BJP 2 March 2002-7 March 2007 (5 years, 5 days)
4 BC Khanduri Congress 7 March 2007-26 June 2009 (2 years, 111 days)
5 Ramesh Pokhriyali BJP 27 June 2009-10 September 2011 (2 years, 75 days)
(4) BC Khanduri Congress 11 September 2011-13 March 2012 (184 days)
6 Vijay Bahuguna 13 March 2012 – 31 January 2014 (1 year, 324 days)
7 Harish Rawat Congress 1 February 2014-27 March 2016 (2 years, 55 days)
, (President’s Rule) 27 March 2016-21 April 2016 (25 days)
(7) Harish Rawat Congress 21 April 2016-22 April 2016 (1 day)
, (President’s Rule) BJP 22 April 2016-11 May 2016 (19 days)
(7) Harish Rawat Congress 11 May 2016-18 March 2017 (311 days)
8 Trivendra Singh Rawat BJP 18 March 2017-10 March 2021 (3 years, 357 days)
9 Tirath Singh Rawat BJP 10 March 2021 – 4 July 2021 (116 days)
10 Pushkar Singh Dhami BJP 4 July 2021-Incumbent (250 days)

Source link


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Name *
Email *